Aus death metal pioneers Abramelin release first album in 20 years, ‘Never Enough Snuff’

Arguably the pioneers of death metal in Australia, Abramelin have released their first album in 20 years, ‘Never Enough Snuff’.

The Melbourne five-piece dropped the 10-tracker on May 15.

Guitarist Tim Aldridge said this record is pure Abramelin.

“The riffs and arrangements for this album have grown and fermented over time from the purest seeds of OG death metal.

“Brutality, energy, darkness, melody and groove. This is our music… This is Abramelin.”

On the lyrics, Simon Dower said the themes are brutal and not for the squeamish.

‘I read a hell of a lot of graphic horror (as I do) during the Abramelin hiatus and came back with a bunch of fresh ideas.

“When I write a song, I think of it like a mini horror film: I create the basis of a story and then load it up with a whole lotta gore and nastiness.

“I’m very fair about it, everyone’s a victim and everyone gets a crack at being the perpetrator i.e. men, women, teenagers, children, demonic forces, werewolves and so on.

“We are brutal death metal and have always had extremely brutal lyrics.

“If you are easily offended, look the other way.”

Originally formed as Acheron in 1988 by vocalist Simon Dower and then guitarist David Abbott, the band changed their name in in the early 1990s due to a clash with an international act of the same name.

Tim Aldrige joined the band in 1989 and quickly became the main writer of music for the band, while Dower handled the grotesque lyrics.

Abramelin was a powerful, driving force in the 1990s, playing alongside a host of well-known Aussie acts from various genres, as well as international metal giants like Morbid Angel, Cradle of Filth, Cannibal Corpse, Carcass and Paradise Lost.

Although at the top of their game and in high demand, the band decided to take a break in 2003 – one that would last 14 years.

Fast forward to 2017 and Abramelin was back.

Original members Simon Dower and Tim Aldridge are still on board, with ex-Abramelin guitarist and music contributor Rob “Wog” Mollica (Earth) now picking up the bass.

They also have guitarist Matt Wilcock (Ackercocke) and drummer David Hayley (Psycroptic) is on board ripping out the blast beats.

Never Enough Snuff is out now

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: