Candlemass announce new EP, share first single

Swedish doom icons Candlemass have just announced the release of a new EP, ‘The Pendulum’, due out March 27.

The EP is comprised of never-before-heard, unused tracks cut from ‘The Door To Doom’ (2019) recording sessions.

The band have also shared the fully-mastered opener/title track. 

“The Pendulum is about hard riffing, epic choruses and total delusion the fanatical way,” band mastermind Leif Edling says.

“It is in fact the last thing I wrote for ‘The Door To Doom’ album but didn’t have the time to finish it.

“Here it is in its grand/mad luster with a great mix by Niklas Flyckt, and produced by Marcus Jidell.

“It is followed by five unreleased demos from the DTD sessions because the whole sha-bang was at first supposed to be a double effort but got trimmed down to a single album eventually.

“I love the Pendulum track, album quality if you ask me, and songs like the porcelain skull and ‘Snakes of Goliath’ are not bad either.

“They just didn’t make it to the final thing.

“So I hope you like this EP that features the ‘missing’ songs.  The last pieces of the puzzle of the one year recording that became the album “Door To Doom.”


1. The Pendulum 

2. Snakes Of Goliath

3. Sub Zero

4. Aftershock

5. Porcelain Skull

6. The Cold Room

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: