Isle of the Cross unleash new video “The Wolf” from debut album ‘Excelsis’

Progressive death metal band Isle of the Cross have unleashed their new video ‘The Wolf’ in support of their debut album, Excelsis, released in February.

The video is for tracks “The Wolf, Pt I. Invocation” and “The Wolf, Pt II. Sanctuary”.

The band says the two ‘Wolf’ tracks take a little diversion from the storyline on the album in order to pay homage and deliver a message to a small parish that celebrated its 50th anniversary this year.

“The Wolf, Pt I. Invocation is an octagonal ritual where the leader welcomes and initiates the obliteration of the innocent minds of children.

“The Wolf, Pt II. Sanctuary is a direct message to the small parish previously mentioned and quite timely as they celebrate their 50th anniversary this year.

“Though it truly is a universal message to all leaders and followers of religious sects and cults who are so violently overcome by their own self-righteous pride and arrogance; having a form of godliness and blindly believing through their own willing enslavement that they are actually ‘serving God.’

“One of the cardinal sins in the world and one radicals’ are highly fond of, is the brainwashing and tormenting of an innocent mind; especially that of a child.

“Though redemption is never too far of a reach for any of us and so of utmost importance is the closing monologue.”

Infusing a blend from the avant-garde realms of extreme, symphonic, melodic, and technical death-metal, Isle of the Cross is led by composer and multi-instrumentalist Je Schneider.

The debut full length Excelsis is a concept release based on a tale of two lovers amidst betrayal, murder and their search to reunite in the afterlife.

At the heart of Isle of the Cross is the conveyance of depth, poignancy, and redemption through the endurance of tragedy.

Excelsis was produced, mixed and mastered by Je Schneider.  

Track Listing

  1. Sacrifice (4:14)
  2. Tartarus (8:25)
  3. Excelsis (4:35)
  4. The Wolf, Pt. I. Invocation (1:09)
  5. The Wolf, Pt. II. Sanctuary (7:20)
  6. Stars (6:25)
  7. Empyrean (7:42)
  8. Paradigm (4:21)
  9. Breatheia (5:57)
  10. The 9th Circle, Pt. I. Caina (2:28)
  11. The 9th Circle, Pt. II. Judecca (0:53)
  12. The 9th Circle, Pt. III. Inferno (8:34)
    Album Length: 1:02:04

Excelsis is out now via Rockshots Records

%d bloggers like this: