Lamb Of God debut first new music in five years

Lamb Of God have debuted their first new music in five years with track Checkmate, taken from their self-titled album due out May 8.

The follow-up to ‘VII: Sturm Und Drang’ marks the band’s first recordings with Art Cruz, who joined the band last July as the replacement for the group’s founding drummer, Chris Adler.

“Checkmate brings together all the components of the Lamb Of God sound that we’ve been developing over the last two decades, but with the ambition and ferocity that comes with the start of a new chapter for our band,” guitarist Mark Morton says.

“Re-energized and reignited, this is Lamb Of God 2020. We’ve never been more excited.”

“Putting only our name on it is a statement,” vocalist Randy Blythe says.

“This is Lamb Of God. Here and now.”

In the midst of writing the ten songs that appear on Lamb Of God, the group hit pause on the works-in-progress to man the stage as main support for Slayer’s ‘The Final Campaign’. 

After months of playing their best-known songs nightly, Lamb Of God returned to the new tracks and began to work with longtime producer Josh Wilbur (Korn, Megadeth, Gojira, Trivium). 

Special guests Jamey Jasta (Hatebreed) and Chuck Billy (Testament) also make appearances on Lamb Of God.

Track listing

01. Memento Mori

02. Checkmate

03. Gears

04. Reality Bath

05. New Colossal Hate

06. Resurrection Man

07. Poison Dream

08. Routes

09. Bloodshot Eyes

10. On The Hook

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: