Napalm Death announce new album Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism

UK grindcore pioneers Napalm Death have announced their upcoming studio album, Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism, is slated for a September 18 release.

The record is the band’s follow-up to their 2015 album, Apex Predator – Easy Meat, and was again recorded with long time producer Russ Russell and features artwork by Frode Sylthe.

“The phrase sticking in my mind when I started thinking about the lyrical direction for this album was ‘the other’,” vocalist Mark ‘Barney’ Greenway says.

“You could recognise at the time that there was a rapidly growing fear and paranoia being generated about everybody, from migrating people to people with fluid sexuality and this was starting to manifest itself in very antagonistic reactions that you felt were almost verging on violence.

“Not everybody resorts to such reactions of course, but even the basic lack of understanding can become toxic over time.

“I’m not saying that this is an entirely new phenomenon, but it has been stoked in recent history by some particularly attack-minded people in more political circles and, as ever, I felt that it would be the natural antidote to endorse basic humanity and solidarity with all.

“The artwork specifically uses a white dove as a centrepiece, which of course is a commonly recognised symbol of peace and cooperation.

“The dove has been mauled very violently by a sterilising hand and in death appears particularly broken and bloodied.

“However, through the violence you can see an equality symbol in blood on the chest of the dove, which perhaps demonstrates – visually at least – that equality cuts through in the end.

“A positive amidst many negatives then, much like the album title itself being a bit of an oxymoron – the celebration of humanity even in the mangling jaws of negativity.”

A first single off Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism will be launched on July 24 as pre-orders become available.

Look out for further details and the various album formats to be revealed soon.

Track list:

  1. F**k the Factoid
  2. Backlash Just Because
  3. That Curse of Being in Thrall
  4. Contagion
  5. Joie De Ne Pas Vivre
  6. Invigorating Clutch
  7. Zero Gravitas Chamber
  8. Fluxing of the Muscle
  9. Amoral
  10. Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism
  11. Acting in Gouged Faith
  12. A Bellyful of Salt and Spleen

Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism is out September 18 via Century Media Records

%d bloggers like this: