Nine Inch Nails release two free albums

Nine Inch Nails have just released two free albums, ‘Ghosts V: Together’ and ‘Ghosts VI: Locusts’.

The pair are experimental instrumental records produced by Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross and follow on from 2008’s ‘Ghosts I-IV’.

Reznor said they produced the records “as a means of staying somewhat sane” amid the coronavirus pandemic.


“Weird times indeed…

“As the news seems to turn ever more grim by the hour, we’ve found ourselves vacillating wildly between feeling like there may be hope at times to utter despair – often changing minute to minute.

“Although each of us define ourselves as antisocial-types who prefer being on our own, this situation has really made us appreciate the power and need for connection.

“Music – whether listening to it, thinking about it or creating it – has always been the thing that helped us get through anything – good or bad.

“With that in mind, we decided to burn the midnight oil and complete these new ghosts records as a means of staying somewhat sane.

“Ghosts v: together is for when things seem like it might all be okay, and ghosts vi: locusts… well, you’ll figure it out.

“It made us feel better to make these and it feels good to share them.

“Music has always had a way of making us feel a little less alone in the world… and hopefully it does for you, too.

“Remember, everyone is in this thing together and this too shall pass.

“We look forward to seeing you again soon.

“Be smart and safe and take care of each other.

“With love,

“Trent & Atticus”

Ghosts V: Together and Ghosts VI: Locusts are available now on the NIN website, YouTube and streaming services.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: