The Ocean reveal new album details, launch first single feat Katatonia’s Jonas Renkse

The Ocean will release their eighth full-length, Phanerozoic II: Mesozoic | Cenozoic, via Metal Blade Records (CD/digital) and the band’s own Pelagic Records (vinyl) on September 25.

In 2018, The Ocean released Phanerozoic I: Palaeozoic – the first half of a sprawling but cohesive palaeontology concept album.

Now, the group is ready to release the concluding parts of the Phanerozoic journey.

For a first preview of Phanerozoic II: Mesozoic | Cenozoic, the new single, “Jurassic | Cretaceous” featuring Katatonia’s Jonas Renkse can be heard now.

“The first part of ‘Phanerozoic’ really is a ‘no-regrets’ album, which is quite rare,” guitarist Robin Staps says.

“Maybe even the first time I can ever say that.”

Staps says in contrast with the compositional directness of Phanerozoic I, the new album – Phanerozoic II: Mesozoic | Cenozoic – is a vastly more progressive and perverse piece of work.

“‘Phanerozoic II’ is more experimental, more eclectic in musical style and direction, and more varied in terms of tempos, beats, guitar work and the use of electronics,” Staps says.

“This was an intentional choice: we wanted Part I to feel rather streamlined and to have a strong cohesion between the individual songs.

“We wanted to create a certain vibe to linger from the first until the last note throughout the whole record.

“We kept the weirder, more daring and more progressive material for Part II.”

Tracked in Iceland, Spain and Germany and produced by esteemed studio guru Jens Bogren, Phanerozoic II is underpinned by some of the most imaginative and challenging music that The Ocean – completed by drummer Paul Seidel, keyboard maestro Peter Voigtmann, bassist Mattias Hagerstrand and guitarist David Ramis Åhfeldt – have made yet.

Divided into two sections – Mesozoic and Cenozoic – the album once again showcases the detail and depth that have become two of The Ocean’s most enduring trademarks.

While ostensibly delving into the extraordinary realities of the Earth’s shifting temporal tides, Staps and his comrades have long drawn hazy parallels between their chosen subjects and the emotional experiences that their music strives to convey.

Phanerozoic II is essentially an album about time, with some very poignant and pointed allusions to the modern world woven into the new music’s spiritual fabric.

“The outcome is a record that is a real journey.

“It starts in one place, and concludes in a totally different place.

“In a way, it relates to 2013’s ‘Pelagial’, which was similar in that it was also a journey: but a more guided, focused and predictable one.

“‘Phanerozoic II’ on the other hand is closer to the experience of free fall.”


  1. Triassic
  2. Jurassic | Cretaceous
  3. Palaeocene
  4. Eocene        
  5. Oligocene
  6. Miocene | Pliocene
  7. Pleistocene
  8. Holocene

Phanerozoic II: Mesozoic | Cenozoic is out September 25 via Metal Blade Records and Pelagic Records

%d bloggers like this: